A Little History of Clay Hill Farm...

Clay Hill Farm was an original working farm built in 1780. Converted to a restaurant in the mid-70‘s, the Tavern at Clay Hill Farm, as it was originally known, consisted of the Main Dining Room and the current bar/lounge. The iconic Clay Hill Farm red barn is the original structure, and the 18th century farmhouse was what is now the foyer, the lounge and part of the kitchen. The Veranda Room was added in the late 70’s by the original proprietor, and the Fireside added in the early 80’s by the second ownership. The current owners, the Lewis family, bought the property in December of 1986, and continue to operate the business with subsequent generations. Many staff members have been with Clay Hill Farm since that day in December of 1986, redefining the ‘Clay Hill Farm family’ to include the valuable employees that have helped make Clay Hill Farm what it is today.

In 1991, Clay Hill Farm became the first restaurant in the country to be certified as a natural wildlife habitat and bird sanctuary. Committed to preserving the natural beauty and resources of Maine, Clay Hill Farm continues to sustain and implement land care practices designed to honor the environment. Nature trails surround the pond across the driveway, and over 100 birdhouses accent the property and garden paths. Backyard growing gardens provide the chef with herbs and vegetable accents for the restaurant, and the cutting gardens provide the dining rooms with 3-seasons of color. Both gardens benefit from several rain barrels and composting stations around the farm.  

With service as its hallmark, environmental preservation in its roots and locally-sourced food as its passion, Clay Hill Farm is proud to offer a unique dining experience that reflects the quaint and natural beauty of Maine. From our family to yours...Welcome! We’re glad you’re here.

clay Hill Farm History

clay hill farm history